Marshall appointed Co-Chair of the AAG Diversity & Inclusion Committee

Congratulations to Lisa Marshall, Director of Outreach, Retention & Engagement, Lecturer & Adviser, for her successful nomination and appointment to the American Association of Geographers (AAG) for a 3-year term (2020-2023). Marshall will be the committee’s co-chair.

AAG Diversity & Inclusion Committee takes actions to facilitate ongoing AAG initiatives to enhance diversity in the discipline. The committee also considers nominations and selects awardees of the Glenda Laws Award to recognize outstanding scholarly contributions to geographic research and provides nominations to the AAG Council for the AAG Enhancing Diversity Award. From 2010-12, Marshall served on the AAG NSF-funded Addressing Locally-tailored Information Infrastructure & Geoscience Needs for Enhancing Diversity (ALIGNED) Project Advisory Board and wrote one of their white papers.

Established in 1904, the AAG membership is 12,000 in 100 countries with 60 specialty groups including Lisa’s home group, Energy & the Environment.