Nuclear Engineering Department Advisory Council

The Nuclear Engineering Advisory Council (NEDAC) provides observations, advice, feedback and support to the Department Head and faculty of NC State’s Department of Nuclear Engineering. There are approximately 15 members, each with terms of 5 years and these appointments are staggered. Membership terms are subject to renewal by the Department Head upon consultation with faculty and consent of the target NEDAC member. The Council elects a Chair with concurrence by the Department Head.

The Council meets at least once a year, and member substitutions are not permitted. Subcommittees of NEDAC will be formed as needed and are charged with addressing overarching issues of nuclear engineering education and research – for example, space and facilities, national recognition, curriculum review, diversity efforts, lab/industry/university interaction, and fundraising.

The Department’s Strategic Plan is reviewed by the Council at least every other year and provides recommendations to the Department Head. Council members are encouraged to champion and facilitate senior design projects, internships for (under)graduate students, employment of departmental graduates, and support outreach and research activities.
Our current NEDAC members include,


Dr. Alan Icenhour
Chair of the Committee
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Associate Laboratory Director Nuclear Science & Engineering


Dr. John Wagner
Secretary of the Committee
Idaho National Laboratory
Associate Laboratory Director
Nuclear Science & Technology


Jean Paul Allen
Professor and Department Head
Ken and Mary Alice Lindquist Department of Nuclear Engineering at Pennsylvania State University


Michael Blom
Duke Energy
Director of Fuel Management & Design


Jeff Bradfute
Westinghouse Electric Company
Vice President
Fuel Engineering & Safety Analysis

Harsh Desai
Nuclear Energy Institute
Senior Manager

Dr. Thomas J. Downar
University of Michigan
Professor of Nuclear Engineering

Steven Freel
CEO & President
Studsvik Scandpower Inc.

Dr. Mirela Gavrilas
Division of Safety Systems
Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NNR)


Dr. Alireza Haghighat
Professor and Director of Nuclear Engineering Program
Virginia Tech


Dr. Yassin Hassan
Texas A&M University
Sallie and Don Davis ’61 Professor of Engineering and Head of Nuclear Engineering Department

Nick Irvin
R&D Manager
Advanced Energy Systems
Southern Company

Dr. Tatiana Ivanova
Head of Division of Nuclear Science
OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA)


Dr. Ralph James
Savannah River National Laboratory
Associate Laboratory Director

Robert Shane Johnson
U.S. DOE – Office of Nuclear Energy
Deputy Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Technology Demonstration & Deployment

Dr. Sama Bilbao y León
Virginia Commonwealth University
Professor and Director of Nuclear Engineering Programs


Kevin Quigley
United States Department of Energy
Manager, Fleet Training & Simulation

Avneet Sood
Los Alamos National Laboratory
XCP-3 Group Leader


John Strumpell
Director of Fuel Research & Development

Dr. Temitope Taiwo
Argonne National Laboratory
Program Manager for Nuclear Programs Strategy


Glen Watford
GE Hitachi Nuclear Energy
Chief Engineer