Dr. John Gilligan named American Nuclear Society Fellow

Congratulations to Dr. John Gilligan, Executive Associate Dean and Distinguished University Professor of Nuclear Engineering. John has been an American Nuclear Society (ANS) member since 1978 and is being recognized for his leadership of the US Department of Energy Office of Nuclear Energy University Program (NEUP) Integration Office, expanding their scope and size, and enhancing the engagement of the nuclear engineering academic community with national laboratories and industry for the betterment of the U.S. innovative nuclear energy posture.

At the opening plenary of the 2022 ANS Annual Meeting, five award recipients as well as two new Fellows, were honored. Additionally, over a dozen presidential citations were awarded during the President’s Special Session.