Marshall receives the 2022 Social Responsibility in the Nuclear Community Award

Congratulations to Lisa M. Marshall (NC State University), Lane B. Carasik (Virginia Commonwealth University) and Kalin Kiesling (Argonne National Lab), recipients of the American Nuclear Society (ANS) Social Responsibility in the Nuclear Community Award as the founders of the Diversity and Inclusion in ANS (DIA) Committee. They were honored at the ANS Winter Meeting Opening Plenary in Phoenix AZ this month.

Marshall is the Director of Outreach, Retention & Engagement for the NC State University Department of Nuclear Engineering. She also teaches in the Engineering First Year Program and the Puerto Rico Summer Program in Engineering and Social Sciences. She sits on the College of Engineering Broadening Participation and Inclusion Committee, chairs the Association of Women Faculty and is the immediate past co-chair of the American Association of Geographers Justice Equity Diversity and Inclusion (JEDI) Committee. She is completing her doctoral degree in higher education with a focus on opportunity, equity, and justice (OEJ) in engineering.  

The Social Responsibility in the Nuclear Community Award recognizes an individual, group, or organization for outstanding efforts in social responsibility promoting diversity, equity, and inclusion or inclusive community-building in the nuclear community. ANS is the premier professional organization for those that embrace nuclear sciences and technologies for their vital contributions to improving people’s lives and preserving the planet.