Nuclear reactor in Burlington Hall. PHOTO BY ROGER WINSTEAD

Dr. Avramova Named 2020-21 University Faculty Scholar

Congratulations to Dr. Maria Avramova, Associate Professor in NC State’s Department of Nuclear Engineering, she has been selected as one of the 2020-21 University Faculty Scholars.

“Dr. Avramova’s recognition as a University Faculty Scholar is an attestation of the quality of her research, scholarly achievement, leadership, and outstanding contribution to the Department, College and the University.”
– Mohamed Bourham, Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor & Dr. Avramova’s Department Head

Avramova is also the Director of the Consortium for Nuclear Power and coordinator of the international CTF Users Group. Dr. Avramova has led several high visibility international research programs supported by the Nuclear Energy Agency of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (NEA OECD), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), and US Department Of Energy (DOE).

Dr. Avramova teaches undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate courses in the areas of advanced reactor design, design principles of reactor systems, reactor core thermal-hydraulics and uncertainty quantification, reactor kinetics and dynamics, nuclear fuel performance, and high-fidelity multi-physics nuclear reactor simulations.

Her principles are based on developing research and innovation directions and guiding graduate students on different levels – since 2009 she has directed 18 PhD’s, 21 MS’s and 45 MEng’s. With her students, she has published 56 journal articles and 125 conference papers.

Dr. Avramova has obtained external funding of over $13M as a PI or co-PI over her career. Most recently, Maria is a part of the teaming agreement in place with X-Energy. Under the US Department of Energy (DOE) Advanced Reactor Development Program (ADRP) $80 million project award, TerraPower and X-energy will build two advanced nuclear reactors. These reactors will be delivered for licensing within seven years.

Established in 2012, the University Faculty Scholars Program recognizes and rewards emerging academic leaders and scholars for their teaching, research, and community engagement. This year’s twenty-one tenured/tenure-track faculty, may use the title “University Faculty Scholar” for the duration of their faculty appointment at NC State and they receive a permanent increase to their base salary.