Nuclear reactor at NC State University. Photo by Marc Hall

Dr. John Gilligan is awarded with the 2017 ANS Arthur Holly Compton Award.

Congratulations are due to Dr. John Gilligan – he has been awarded the 2017 ANS Arthur Holly Compton Award.

Dr. John Gilligan, Executive Associate Dean of the College of Engineering Distinguished University Professor of Nuclear Engineering, North Carolina State University, is awarded with the 2017 ANS Arthur Holly Compton Award by the Education, Training & Workforce Development Division. The plaque and monetary award will be presented to Dr. John Gilligan during the ANS Annual Meeting, which will be held at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, CA, June 11-15, 2017, at the Opening Plenary to be held on Monday, June 12, beginning at 8:00 a.m.

This award was established in 1966 in honor of the late Arthur Holly Compton to recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to education in nuclear science and engineering. The award is funded through an endowment by the wife of Edward Malinckrodt, Jr. and by George E. Malinckrodt, and is administered by the Education, Training, and Workforce Development Division (ETWDD).